Wordfence vs S2 Security Badge - do I need both?

Hi,

I’m new to S2, just installing it. My site is protected by WordFence Premium. Is there any reason to also install S2 Badge? I’d be happy to, but am concerned about possible conflicts between the two?

Thanks!

The badge doesn’t actually add any security, so you certainly don’t need it.

I’d be much more wary of Wordfence, though. You need to check that you haven’t selected any of its options that will conflict with s2Member.

Thanks!

Which options would that be?

I’ve never had any issues with WordFence, in any context (not with Wishlist Member either, which I used prior to S2 Member)

I don’t use Wordfence (tried the free version and hated it: they seemed great at PR but poor at actually providing much security) and I have never tried the Pro version, so I can’t tell you what the problematic options are. But you should be able to find them by searching through this forum; there have been plenty of reports by others.

That’s actually part of my point. If there’s a security feature you need, it’s probably already included in s2Member, whereas that’s not true of many other membership plugins. So you don’t want to have the plugins duplicate the same functions.

Thanks for responding! Looking at my Wordfence Pro settings and functionality it far, far exceeds what is provided in S2 Pro. I will most definitely keep Wordfence and if I encounter issues I’ll take it from there. :slight_smile:

I’d love to know what you consider to be “far exceeds”. I haven’t used the Pro version.

But the supposed extra stuff in the free version (at least when I tried it) were either pure fluff or things you should do without a plugin.