Use Stripe Payment Link to then register user

I’m new to S2 but I have it installed on my site (and bought Pro a few days ago) and I’m working to configure it.

I would like to be able to use Stripe’s Payment Link on my site to handle the transaction, then have it return the buyer to a page on my site where they can complete user registration. Is there any way to make this happen?

While I can use the Stripe Pro Forms, I find that Stripe’s UX is more modern, supports Apple / Google Pay, and seems a lot more managable.

One thing I thought SHOULD work but doesn’t, is registering for my site first, then using the payment link and checking out with the identical info. I figured the S2 would get the webhook and would match it up with the existing user. That didn’t happen.

Is there any flow that could do what I’m looking for? Thank you!

Hi Aaron,

For Stripe you have s2’s pro-form, that handles the registration too. WP Admin > s2Member Pro > Stripe Pro-Forms

For a special redirection after payment, see: WP Admin > s2Member Pro > Stripe Pro-Forms > Custom Return URLs Upon Success

If you want the user to register first, and then pay, you can do that, just make sure he logins to his account after registration, and after payment s2 will upgrade his account.

:slight_smile:

Hey Christian, thanks for the reply!

So I’m trying to understand the possible solution you gave here. Yes, I know I can have a standalone registration form. Check.

I also know I can set Stripe to send the user to a custom URL after a successful payment. Check.

It sounds like you’re saying that I can have the person complete checkout via Stripe Link and direct them to a custom URL with parameters. Would that let the person who’s registering have data carried into the form (I’m guessing hidden) that will go into the registration?

How would the URL be formatted on Stripe’s end? My guess is it’s myDomain.com/Checkoutsuccess?subscr_id=%%subscr_id%%&subscr_cid=%%subscr_cid%%&item_number=%%item_number%%