Send New User Email To Registrants Even With Custom Password

RE: New User Email Message in S2Member Pro (“Welcome Email”)

Q: Is there a way to make S2Member Pro send out a New User Email Message (aka Welcome Message) even when a custom password has been set?

Discussion: Hi there folks. I have been using S2Member Pro happily on my site for 10 years. I just noticed today that my new registrants to the site are not getting my welcome email anymore, Argh :frowning:

I see that S2Member Pro will not send welcome emails to users now who set custom passwords. Why on earth is there not an option to override this in the Email Configuration settings (in S2 General Options)?

Thank you in advance and I hope you are all safely ensconced away from “covid 19” /kaliko in Hawaii

What makes you say that…is there a line of code you are referring to?

Thank you for asking, Tim. I see that in s2Member Pro General Options > Email Configuration, right at the bottom. I have “New User Email Configuration” set to “Yes (customize New User Emails with s2Member)”; and then below that is “New User Email Message” which says in highlighted blue, " ↑ NOTE: You currently have Custom Passwords enabled in your s2Member Registration/Profile Field options. Therefore, this email is not going to be sent; i.e., it is only sent to users who need it for the purpose of obtaining their password."

Ahhh…I get it now. This is a S2Member message I would not see since I always disabled the custom new user emails feature of S2Member.

Why do I do that?

My clients typically need custom password reset messages. Since S2Member does not offer this feature and it won’t operate if another plug-in takes over this feature, I have this s2member feature disabled. Always have.

The plug-in I use instead for this feature is: https://wordpress.org/plugins/bnfw/ (I am not affiliated or an affiliate). It plays well with all my plugins including s2member.