Phishing Domain Embedded into Registration Form

Hi,
Firstly, thank you for maintaining and building on a fantastic plugin!

I’ve been a S2member Pro user for around 5yrs, but was just alerted to a potential issue where it appears some known phishing website (wcomhost.com) may have become embedded into the registration form of my website. I have activated a 3rd party security plugin (Astounding Spam Protection), which prevents registrations (via S2member) each time a legitimate website visitor attempts a registration due to the detection of the phishing site attempting to gather the details of the form registration. If this phishing site indeed has somehow embedded itself into the S2member registration form on my website (https://tradablepatterns.com/wp-login.php?action=register), how would you suggest for me to clean the phisher from the form, and to eliminate this phishing from taking place, while allowing users to continue with legitimate registration?

Much appreciated in advance,
Darren

Sorry to hear you got hacked. What a pain.

There are a lot of hack possibilities to run through and none of them involve s2member.

• Are you on shared hosting (one of the other sites may have hacked it…for example I just got a casual note from the one shared hosting site I keep around for testing purposes that it got hacked…which is one of the reasons I don’t use shared hosting with my clients)
  • Have you previously contracted someone to fix something on your site
  • Have you recently given your login credentials to a plugin / theme support person
  • Is all your software always kept up-to-date
  • Are all your plugins from respected sources
  • Are all your plugins from wordpress.org

Hi Tim,
I’m actually using a Virtual Private Server offered by my webhost.

I used to keep a few security plugins (like Wordfence) activated to prevent these hacks, but had to deactivate them as there were too many false positives where legitimate users couldn’t register on my website.