PayPal double payments

We are getting quite a few users who double click the PayPal payment submission button either when registering as a new member or when updating their memberships. I’ve tried adding a “don’t do that” messagein BIG RED letters on our membership page but I don’t believe that I can modify the actual page on PayPal.

Apologies as I’m a newbie with this plugin – I inherited the site and its setup from someone who walked away…long story. At any rate, my question – is there something in the s2member plugin configuration that I’m missing, or better yet, is there some way to make it impossible for users to submit double payments? These usually occur within 1-2 minutes of one another so I suspect the users are thinking nothing is happening so they click the button again.

This then becomes a pain when the users see the double billing on their payments and we have to go thru the refund process or worse yet, they file a claim with PayPal.

Any suggestions on where to start would be greatly appreciated!!

Hi Chuck.

I know how it can be to inherit a website… I’ll try to help you make it as painless as possible, at least when it comes to s2Member.

If I were having that issue, what I’d do as well, would be adding a very clear message next to the button about not clicking it twice (I see this often on payment pages around the web).

Are you using PayPal buttons or the s2Member pro-form?

Could you show me the payment page? You can send it to me privately if you don’t want to make it public (click on my name and then the “Message” button).

I look forward to your update. :slight_smile:

Hmmm…I clicked on your name - and your login name – but only see additional info about you, no “Message” button. Maybe I’m looking in the wrong spot??

At any rate, here is a screenshot of my not-so-subtle message-:slight_smile:

But bear in mind, this is a website in a retirement community so apparently, you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it sip just once!