Is the Server Scanner up-to-date?

I am trying to update my server (Ubuntu 16.04) from PHP 5.6 to 7.3. I ran the s2Member Server Scanner with 5.6 still running, and saw some problems which I fixed, but curl always trigged an error. I then upgraded PHP on Apache to 7.3 and ran it again and found more problems - requirements for mysql and mcrypt (and still the curl problem). I can’t seem to fix these problems. What I’m wondering is if the server scanner is up to date and supports PHP 7.3. I also wonder why some of these issues exist. For example, why is it required to switch short_open_tag to on. Isn’t that against best-practices? Can’t s2member be updated to not require short_open_tag to be on? I’m not an expert but that seems like a search-and-replace in the code. Also, my understanding that the mysql extension was removed in PHP 7, and you need to switch to mysqli. Does s2member support this change? Thanks.

On a related note, is there any documentation online covering what extensions to PHP are required by s2member, and how to set it up? Thanks.

I got the following errors when checking s2Member using a PHP version checker:

FILE: /var/www/html/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/s2member/src/vendor/paragonie/random_compat/lib/byte_safe_strings.php
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FOUND 0 ERRORS AND 2 WARNINGS AFFECTING 2 LINES
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 32 | WARNING | INI directive 'mbstring.func_overload' is deprecated since PHP 7.2
 86 | WARNING | INI directive 'mbstring.func_overload' is deprecated since PHP 7.2

FILE: /var/www/html/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/s2member/src/vendor/paragonie/random_compat/lib/random_bytes_mcrypt.php
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------