Custom Capabilities set up

Hi,

I bought s2Member Pro years ago and am now finally going to use it. I want to use custom capabilities instead of levels but there’s something I’m not understanding. I’m not a coder.

The videos I looked at are 4 years old and I was wondering if things have changed since then to make it simpler for non-developers.

My questions:

Do I have to use shortcodes on the pages that I want to use for ccap?
Do I have to add some code in my functions.php first?
What is the purpose of Require Custom Capabilities on pages/posts - can I add a name there or must it first be set up elsewhere?

So for example say I create a page that contains a course and I want to use the term ‘speakup’ as the ccap. I then want to create a payment button for that and I understand that I add speakup in the ccap section.

My confusion is around what I must have done before all that for the button and access to work.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Sofia

I am not a coder either and i have been using s2M for over 8 years now. CCAPS are powerful and there is a more powerful way to use it, that is not often talked about, so i’ll try to answer your questions with my own experience.

Do I have to use shortcodes on the pages that I want to use for ccap?
You can, but you don’t have to.

Do I have to add some code in my functions.php first?
I have never touched that for ccaps, so don’t worry.

What is the purpose of Require Custom Capabilities on pages/posts - can I add a name there or must it first be set up elsewhere?
You can set a particular page (or post) to be accessible only with a specific CCAP there. If the visitor does not have that ccap, he will be redirected to the Membership option page.